SWALLOW SCHOOL DISTRICT W299 N5614 County Road E Hartland, Wisconsin 53029

SPECIAL SCHOOL BOARD MEETINGApril 26, 20197:00 a.m.

Present: John Stahl, Susie Polentini, Peggy Moede, Darin Clark (via phone), Greg Zimmerman (left the meeting at 7:37am but continued via phone), Melissa Thompson and Jeremy Struss.

Also in attendance was Ben Falls of C.G. Schmidt.

CALL TO ORDER

Melissa Thompson called the meeting to order at 7:00 a.m., read the Notice of the Meeting, and led those in attendance in the Pledge of Allegiance.

John Stahl moved to approve the agenda. Susie Polentini seconded and the motion carried 5-0 on a voice vote.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

The school board members discussed school board roles and responsibilities in relation to the overall role of the school board in governance of the school district as well as specific roles and responsibilities of school board officers.

The Board will conduct one work session per month in addition to the regular monthly board meeting to meet as a whole group and discuss, on a rotating basis, matters related to Employee Relations, Finance and Operations, Policy, and Teaching and Learning.

A meeting calendar for the 2019-20 school board year was determined.

BOARD ORGANIZATIONAL ELECTIONS AND APPOINTMENTS

Election of 2019-20 Board of Education Officers

The Board conducted an election of 2019-20 school year officers:

President: Darin Clark moved to appoint John Stahl as President. Susie Polentini seconded and the motion carried on a 5-0 voice vote.

Vice President: Peggy Moede moved to appoint Susie Polentini as Vice President. Darin Clark seconded and the motion carried 5-0 on a voice vote.

Clerk: Susie Polentini moved to appoint Peggy Moede as Clerk. Darin Clark seconded and the motion carried 5-0 on a voice vote.

Treasurer: Peggy Moede moved to appoint Darin Clark as Treasurer. John Stahl seconded. Greg Zimmerman nominated himself but there was no second. The motion for Darin Clark carried 5-0 on a voice vote.

April 26, 2019 - Special School Board Meeting Minutes

Appointment to 2019-20 Board of Education Committees/Delegates

The Board appointed the following Board Members as committee members and delegates:

CESA 1 Delegate – Susie Polentini moved to appoint Peggy Moede as CESA# 1 Delegate. Darin Clark seconded and the motion carried on a 5-0 voice vote.

WASB Delegate – Darin Clark moved to appoint John Stahl as WASB Delegate. Peggy Moede seconded and the motion carried on a 5-0 voice vote.

Negotiations - All school board members agreed to participate.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

Review of Subcontractor Bids from Action Item Work Categories within Bid Pack #2

Ben Falls from C.G. Schmidt presented subcontractor bids for the work categories of metals, doors, frames, and hardware, fire suppression, plumbing, HVAC, electrical, mass demolition and earthwork, and site utilities. The board requested to have the budget to estimate documentation presented as well moving forward.

ACTION ITEMS

The Board reviewed and took action on the following items:

Approval of Recommended Subcontractors as related to Action Item Work Categories within Bid

Pack #2 Susie Polentini motioned to approve the contractors for the work categories as presented. Darin Clark seconded and the motion passed on a 5-0 vote.

ADJOURNMENT

At 7:52 a.m. Peggy Moede made the motion to adjourn which was seconded by Susie Polentini and carried 5-0 on a voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Melissa Thompson

Superintendent

Approved: _____

_____, President

, Clerk